MWFA Men’s Select Team Named

210217 Mens Select - MUFC 4-2 MWFA (1 of 178)

The 2022 Men’s MWFA Select Squad who will represent the MWFA in two matches against Northern Suburbs Football Association and Manly United has been named.

Ryan Butcher, CC Strikers Men’s Premier League coach, will take on the role of coaching the squad for the third consecutive year and has selected a 19-man squad with players from all 12 2022 Premier League clubs.

“We’ve picked a similar squad to last year, plenty of speed, strong defenders, strong keepers and busy midfielders” Butcher said.

“I was keen to keep as much continuity from 2021 as possible – last year the players were unreal – and so we’ve done that with some fresh faces too.”

There are two very different public expectations of the matches according to Butcher, and that is to win against NSFA and lose against Manly United.

“With both games, the players are representing their clubs and the association, and they have a chance to make history against manly United which would be pretty cool”

The Select squad will only have a short time to come together as a team before taking to the field, creating a challenging coaching role for Butcher.

“These games force you to summarise the game style/plan in 3-4 key points and then let the quality of the players take over” Butcher says.

Despite the pressure of a short time period and expectation to win against NSFA, Butcher has not lost sight of what football is all about.

“The most important part is letting the players do what they do best and enjoy themselves which is what I’ll be looking to do.”

The MWFA would like to congratulate the following players who have been selected for the 2022 MWFA Men’s Select Squad.

Bill Benton (Pittwater), Taylor Cahill (Wakehurst), Ryan Chambers (Beacon Hill), Josh Ciabatti (Brookvale), Luke Curnow (CC Strikers), Aiden Curry (Pittwater), Oscar Drew (Mosman), Luke Femia (Brookvale), Jack Gilbert (BTH), Eddie Goodall (Harbord), Michael Kember (Curl Curl), Mark McManus (Brookvale), Lucas Mexia (Narrabeen), Nick Parker (CC Strikers), Aaron Peters (St Augustines), Matt Smith (CC Strikers), Brody Strachan (CC Strikers), Adam Tomko (Seaforth), Johnny Walker (Pittwater)

Ryan Butcher (Coach), Ash Parker (Coach), Dane Sharp (Coach)

The MWFA Men’s Select Squad games are as follows:


Wednesday 9th Feb – 7:30pm – Cromer Park 2

MWFA vs Manly United

Wednesday 23rd Feb – 7:30pm – Cromer Park 2


Notice board

Find updates on each club and positions available.


Searching for Clubs?

Find clubs, club contacts, field locations and more in our clubs directory. 

Get social

Upcoming Events