MWFA Premier League men's grand final review

wakehurst pl

IN one of the more dramatic deciders in recent years, Wakehurst beat CC Strikers 3-0 in a penalty shoot out to be crowned MWFA Premier League champions on Saturday night at Cromer Park.

CC Strikers, chasing their first senior men’s title since the club’s formation in 1995, looked home after goals from Michael Morrison and Henry van Weeren gave them a 2-0 lead.

Paul Juergens cleared the Tigers bench chasing late goals, and he was rewarded in the 84th minute when Mikey Domjen found the back of the net.

It set up a frantic few minutes, and when Ben Smith headed home a Sheldon Tweedie free kick in the 88th minute, the atmosphere was electric around the ground.

Wakehurst’s late show deflated their opposition, who went on to miss three penalties.

Declan Pendleton saved two spot-kicks, and Tweedie, Russ Bream and Domjen held their nerve from 12 yards to get the party started.

“Even though we were 2-0 down at halftime, I stressed to the boys to keep their belief and desire,” Wakehurst coach Paul Juergens said.

“We are a fit team, we tend to run over the top of our opposition late in games.

“Even at 2-1 down I felt we had momentum, and once Ben (Smith) scored, I knew we would be hard to stop.

“Credit to Declan (Pendleton) as well, he was nervous early, but responded brilliantly for us.”

Pittwater RSL FC had too much class in the Premier League Reserve Grade final, running out 5-0 winners against Narrabeen.


Notice board

Find updates on each club and positions available.


Searching for Clubs?

Find clubs, club contacts, field locations and more in our clubs directory. 

Get social

Upcoming Events